tdovadmin

One to Watch: London Designer Nikita Karizma

In October, Twenty-Twelve on October 26, 2012 at 1:44 PM

Happy Friday! And what a glorious Friday it is. I’m heading to Frightmares at Lagoon this weekend – bring on the scarefest! (And those who know me know I scare fairly easily!!) What are your plans this weekend?

I wanted to share competition winner Ursula Boadi’s picture with her goodies!!

Isn’t she cute? Congrats again Ursula! Look out for more giveaways coming soon!

For those of you who don’t know, I used to run an online women’s shoe business called Neneh Stiletto. Alas it didn’t quite work out but it was a great opportunity and since then I have updated the blog part of it to focus on fashion and beauty. During that time however, I had the pleasure of interviewing up and coming London-based designer Nikita Karizma. Check out the original interview here.

I’m glad to report that she has come leaps and bounds since graduating from the London College of Fashion in 2011.

Here is the design I focused on (being a shoe business and all):

Can you say L.O.V.E.?

I checked in again with her in December 2011 where I was thrilled to find out she had designed some of the stage wear for the X Factor UK finalists Amelia Lily and group Little Mix (as well as the dancers). Fantabulous? I think so! (I know its not a real word but just go along with me on it). Here a few pics from the grand finale!

So almost a year later I’m catching up with her again and seeing where 2012 has taken her…

Thank you for your time again, its always great to hear what you have been up to. Since Neneh Stiletto is now the Definition of Vogue we have acquired some new readers and followers! Tell them about yourself:
I am a young London designer, recent graduate of London College of Fashion aiming to bring to you a conceptual body of creative work inspired by the world we live in today in the hope of making consumers think a little deeper about social matters.

Its almost been a year since we last spoke, what have you been up to since?
I have been working on celebrity commissions for The X Factor, Amelia Lily & Little Mix, JLS 4th Dimension Tour, Alexandra Burke’s album launch of heartbreak on hold and starting up my label Nikita Karizma.

Tell us how you got into fashion!
My parents are buyers and have a high end asian boutique in London so I naturally grew up around the creative world, however my style is much more hard edged. Studying at London College of Fashion really instilled into me my passion for the industry as I learnt the design process from concept through to product development and realization.

How is your Collection Riot line coming along?
I am excited to work on my first conceptual body of work since university, it has a strong anti violence message behind it which I am happy to share through my clothing. I will keep you posted in a few months.

This blog is about defining your own vogue, describe your personal style in 4 words:
Punk, urban, pop, adrogenous.

Is it important to do what you love/follow your dreams? Why?
Absolutely. It makes everything worthwhile in life. For me personally I want to spread a positive message through my creative concepts and clothing and nothing gives me more satisfaction than to be able to do so through this medium. Following your passion will give you moments in life that are priceless and its worth working every moment for…

What can we look out for from Nikita Karizma in the next year?
Celebrity commissions, Collection Riot, am hoping to collaborate with a variety of creatives and continually bring you thought provoking ideas pushing the boundaries that fashion lies in.

You heard it. Definitely watch this space. I have a feeling bigger things will come her way. Make sure to check out her website http://nikitakarizma.com/ with details on her work thus far and her up and coming Collection Riot. You will not be disappointed!

Lastly (I know today’s post is longer than usual BUT its totally worth it!) here is some inspiration from Chicken Soup for the Soul (awesome book if you haven’t already read it):

– Henry Ford failed and went broke 5 times before he succeeded.
– Walt Disney was fired by a newspaper editor for lack of ideas.
– Thomas Edison’s teachers told him he was too stupid to learn anything.
– Socrates was called, “An immoral corrupter of youth.”

“Don’t worry about failure. Worry about the chances you miss when you don’t even try.”

Awe-inspiring. Never give up. Dare to dream. Make it happen.

Have a marvelous weekend!
Mariama

  1. […] One to Watch: London Designer Nikita Karizma (thedefinitionofvogue.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] One of my favorite interviews was with rising London-based designer Nikita Karizma. With styling the artists for the UK X Factor final and a new line launching in 2013, she is certainly one to watch. Read her interview here. […]

Leave a Reply

